Nurturing A Values-Based Leadership Approach

Tuesday, 04 July 2023, Sathya Sai Grama, Muddenahalli, Karnataka, India

A Good Leader is also a good servant, who needs to combine effectively the triad of the Brain that orchestrates, the Heart that invests compassion and the Hands that wield competence. And in addition, the singular quality that makes a good leader is the quality of Selfless Love, exhibited through the unity of thought, word, and deed. The need of the hour is transformational leadership, and not just transactional. This Leadership Conclave on the theme, ‘Nurturing a Values-based Leadership Approach’ discussed the four topics – To Be, To Do, To See, To Tell across four sessions. These sessions examined different aspects of creating and institutionalising a values-based leadership behaviour in different areas of human endeavour. Leaders from several walks of human activity – Education, Business, Government, Society, Religion, shared their rich experience and ideated on the process of creating, developing and nurturing a model for values-based leadership.

  • Inaugural Session – 8:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.

  • Session 1 – 9:45 a.m. to 11:15 a.m.

Theme: To Be

Session Chair: Professor A Anantharaman – Former Faculty, Harvard Business School, USA; Provost, St Joseph’s Institute of Management, Bengaluru.

Speakers and Topics:

1. Mr Madan Padaki – Founder and Chief Executive Officer, 1BRIDGE, India. Topic: A Good Leader vs a Great Leader – What Is the Need of the Hour?

2. Dr Neil Hawkes – Founder of Values-Based Education (VbE), UK. Topic: Walk the Talk: The Role of Self-Awareness in Effective Leadership.

3. Mr Kamal Bali – President and Managing Director, Volvo Group, India Topic: Being Guided by Our Inner Compass.

4. Mr Lakshminarayana K R – Chief Endowment Officer, Wipro, India Topic: Being in the Moment: Cultivating Presence and Focus.

  • Session 2 – 11:20 a.m. to 12:50 p.m.

Theme: To Do

Session Chair: Mr Deenanath Harapanahalli – Founder and Chief Executive Officer, LifeCykul, India.

Speakers and Topics:

1.     Mr Mohit Nirula – CEO, Columbia Pacific Communities, India. Topic: Leading for a Social Purpose

2.     Mr Somdev Devvarman – Former Professional Indian Tennis Player, India. Topic: Developing Resilience through Success and Failure.

3.     3. Mr Ranjan Chak – Venture Partner at Oak Investments and Former MD of Oracle, India. Topic: Climbing the Ladder without Compromising Values.

  • Session 3 – 2:00 p.m. to 3:15 p.m.

Theme: To See

Session Chair: Ms Gitanjali J B – Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Himalayan Institute of Alternatives, Ladakh, India.

Speakers and Topics:

1. Mr Mamadou Kwidjim Toure – Founder and CEO of Ubuntu Group, Cameroon. Topic: Taking Everybody Along - I Am Because We Are.

2. Mr Aron D – CEO and Chairman, Ambika Inc, USA. Topic: Seeing the Strengths to Tackle the Weaknesses.

3. Mr Rajesh Babu – Chief Operating Officer, Akshayakalpa Organic, India. Topic: A Happy Team, A Happy Organisation, A Happy Society.

4. Ms Mynoo Maryel – Founder of The POEM (Palace of Extraordinary Miracles), United Arab Emirates. Topic: Leading with Intuitive Intelligence – Seeing All Perspectives.

  • Session 4 – 3:20 p.m. to 4:45 p.m.

Theme: To Tell

Session Chair: Mr Indushekhar B – Vice-President, Volvo, India.

Speakers and Topics:

1. Mr Amit Sharma – Managing Partner, Global Delivery, IBM Consulting, India. Topic: Leading with Empathy: Communicating and Connecting with Your Team.

2. Mr Nikhil Dey – Life & Leadership Coach, Executive Director of Adfactors and Founder of soul2sole coaching, India. Topic: Mindful Listening and Navigating Difficult Conversations.

3. Mr M V Narayana – Senior Adviser, Expert Consultant, HCL Foundation, India. Topic: Motivating the Team by Recognising Good Work.

  • Session 5 – 4:50 p.m. to 6:20 p.m.

Theme: Women and Ethics in Leadership – Panel Discussion

Session Chair: Ms Suparnaa Chadda – UN Women Awardee and Founder of Simply Suparnaa Media Network, India

Speakers Panel:

1. Ms Kristin Engvig – Founder President of WIN, Inspiring Women Worldwide, Norway

2. Ms Prerana Langa – Chief Executive Officer, YES Foundation, Aga Khan Agency for Habitat, India

3. Dr Snehal Donde – Principal, Hillary Visa Oswal College, Fulbright Scholar and Dean of Administration, Bhaktivedanta Research Centre, India

4. Dr Kiranmai Pendyala – Corporate VP, HR, AMD Greater Asia and EMEA, UPS India Technology Center, India.

Valedictory Session – 6.30 p.m.

Scroll to Top